Autumn Farewells

I have loved watching the aerobatics of migrant swifts and swallows throughout the summer months. I spotted the first swallow in early March (usually early April back in England). The swifts arrive a few weeks later and are always the first to leave.

Early October brought some cool and overcast days which were a welcome change from the constant blue of Mediterranean summer skies.

image

I thought I had seen the last of the swallows having searched in vain, but then a crowd of noisy juveniles spent a day swooping over our house making quite a din! The low pressure weather most likely brought the flying insects closer to the ground and the swallows naturally followed this food source … much to my delight!

I would love to take better shots of birds … but  I’m rather impatient and prefer watching the display act out in real time. I did manage this one shot though.

I look forward to next spring to witness their return.

Leave a Reply

