Venezia

I first visited Venice back in 1984. It was late summer (August I think) and I had been working in Switzerland as an au-pair to earn some cash to help me through my second year at university.

I hadn’t planned to go to Venice, but I had accepted an invite to join some friends for two weeks in Spain in the early September, so by taking a train from Switzerland it didn’t seem to much of a detour to visit Venice!

I spoke no Italian at the time and I had booked no lodgings and yet I was quite confident that all would be fine once I arrived. Possibly it was foolhardy now I look back, but it really did work out fine!

FullSizeRender 56

I loved Venice then and have long wished to return with my husband. He surprised me with a trip back in early March. The weather was really very chilly after a warm spell in Naples.

FullSizeRender 55

I was delighted that I could still find my way around relatively easy – I had recalled quite a few places. And, of course, I discovered still more … I particularly enjoyed my visit to the brightly coloured jewel of an island, Burano.

FullSizeRender 64

 

And I loved listening to Vivaldi’s Four Seasons as San Vidal Church just off Campo Santo Stefano.

My photos here are just a few of many that I took …. too many that I really don’t know what to do with them!

 

Leave a Reply

